Ray Bradbury

By now I’m sure most everyone knows this, but Ray Bradbury is no longer among us. The exceptionally talented sci-fi writer passed away this morning in Los Angeles. He was 91 years old.

Ray Bradbury is best known as the author of classic novels such as Fahrenheit 451, The Martian Chronicles, and Something Wicked This Way Comes. The Martian Chronicles was my first adult science fiction that I read, back around the age of 7 to 9, if I remember right. The truth is that I haven’t read it again as an actual adult, but what I do remember is being absolutely fascinated by it. I had become hooked on Star Wars some time prior to this point and was yearning for more science fiction. I think it was my father who gave me The Martian Chronicles and pushed me further along the path to science fiction nerdom, but again the sad truth is that I have an extremely limited memory of my life prior to twelve; just little blurbs and facts here and there.

The point I’m trying to make, but failing miserably at, is that Ray Bradbury touched my life in ways that I probably don’t even realize. If you’re a fan of science fiction in any form he probably touched you as well in some way. You probably don’t even know how.

With that I say farewell to one of nerd culture’s greatest icons. *Insert something poetic here, because I’m too sad and tired.*

Photo credit AP.

