This article was originally posted today to IGN on my gaming blog there. The post was meant as an entry in their contest to blog for them for E3. I made the mistake of not reading the full official rules prior to my writing and ended up finding out that it had to me no more than 100 words in length. Woops! As such I’m posting the original to you, our loyal readers.

Now if anyone from IGN sees this and feels it violates the rules of the contest in some way, please inform me and I will be more than happy to remove it. Thanks!

 

Hello gentle immortal beings of IGN.com it is I, Joshua Silverman Lord of the realm of calibrations that need to be done constantly; or Constantly Calibrating if you will. I beseech thee to…you know what, no more poorly construed middle-English for this post. Let’s get down to the facts about why I want to blog about E3 for you and why you should let me.

The Desire of Visiting E3

There is no doubt that everyone who posts about E3 will share similar if not near identical reasoning for wanting to go: “Holy Frell! OH MY GARRUS! Let me play games and write about them and squee like a small child!” We’re all gamers and nerds and lovers of entertainment. We’re the fanboys and fangirls that froth at the mouth, and possibly other parts whenever talk of exclusive trailers, news, and first-looks appear. To be able to be part of that experience; to be the one showing off to the world our fandom and bringing news is a dream to us all.

My gaming life started young, like many of my generation. Both of my parents bought me an NES back when I was around 3-5 years old. After that the paths diverged: My mother decided to buy me a Super Nintendo; my father a Sega Genesis. From that point on I was hooked, but not on the world of consoles which I did love, but on PC gaming. While both of my parents were fighting for my gaming love (actually they didn’t really care to the best of my knowledge, they just bought me different systems) I was busy being engrossed in the world of making my father spend hours on end installing games in DOS, I mean playing wonderful PC games. My earliest loves were adventure games like Day of the Tentacle, Sam & Max Hit the Road, and Leisure Suit Larry. To this day I still replay all of these classic adventure games, as well as look forward to potential remakes and reboots. You can check out my RetroRewind series of articles on Leisure Suit Larry and its upcoming remake here.

As I have grown into a man child in his late-20’s I have not journeyed far from the world of gaming. My tastes migrated away from PC gaming and into the world of console gaming, focusing primarily on the Xbox 360, but my love is of all gaming. Well that and my wife, but she loves gaming too so it’s a happy threesome. Nowadays you would be hard-pressed to
find me not engrossed in the worlds of Mass Effect, Assassin’s Creed, Dragon Age, and Kingdom Hearts; some of my favorite universes. See that’s the point of gaming now. It is no longer just about the game, but the universe in which the games exists. Games have their own universes that they inhabit and depict for us, the loyal gamers.

But enough about my needs, let’s talk about yours…

The Immortal Gamers Make a Choice

Now you’re probably asking: “Why should we choose this rambling fool to cover gaming’s biggest event?” (By the way, that’s a really hurtful thing to call someone. Way to be rude.) Well the answer is simple, to me at least. Passion! I’m extremely passionate about gaming and not just gaming, but all avenues of nerd-culture. That’s why my best friend Steven Needham and I started Constantly Calibrating. It was originally intended as a podcast devoted to all things nerdy: Gaming, Movies, Comics, TV, Cosplay, and whatever else comes to mind. What I’ve always said to people when asked about the birth of Constantly Calibrating is “After a few days of discussion Steven and I sat down and realized that we needed to start our own podcast. It was the sensible solution to a problem we hadn’t created yet.” What we hadn’t expected was the problem ConCal had created for us.

Having a podcast was great and we knew it would be an enjoyable experience, but where would we host it and how would we get people to listen. It occurred to me that I could parlay my love and aspirations of writing into a blog for us. The podcasts would exist as a weekly journey into our minds, but the site would allow me to keep people interested in us. It would also function as a community for like-minded nerds to congregate and discuss nerdy things. Obviously there are already thousands of such places, but that didn’t lessen the want of having our own. At this time we’re trying to grow the site into more than just a blog, but this isn’t the place for those discussions.

Constantly Calibrating is my passion, and writing is a huge portion of that passion. It encompasses all the things I love in this world of nerd-related stuff. If I was chosen to attend E3 on behalf of IGN.com I would bring that same passion to every post I made. My love of gaming would ooze out of my pores and encrust IGN in my blogging goodness. All I ask is to be given the opportunity.

Thank you for your time.

